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What can | do if | see smoking in a place that '
is required to be smoke-free?

The first thing to do is to alert staff or the manager,
to make sure they are aware. Ask the staff or
manager to handle it because it's their responsibility
to be compliant with the law. If the staff appears

to be allowing the smoking to continue, you can

file a complaint. For more information or to report

a possible violation you may call the CARE-LINE at
1-800-662-7030 (Bilingual services are available

in over 150 languages.) 7 am. - 11 p.m,, seven days Sm 0 ke Fr\ee @ N C g oV
a week. If calling between the hours of 11 p.m. and

7 a.m., you may leave a message and your call will be
returned; or you can visit www.smokefree.nc.gov;

or you may call your local health department.

North Carolina. Now serving smoke-free air.

Information about potential violations will be shared Now Serving Smoke-Free Air
with Local Health Directors, who have responsibility . .
for enforcement in their counties. in North Carolina Bars

and Restaurants

What if a smoker is asked to put out the
cigarette or take it outside and refuses? Starting January 2, 2010

In the rare event that someone does not comply
when asked, smokers who break the law can be
charged with an infraction by local law enforcement.
The fine may be up to $50.

Where can | get help if | want to quit
smoking?

Call the N.C. Tobacco Use Quitline, which operates
from 8:00 a.m. until 3 a.m. seven days a week.

The toll-free number for North Carolina is
1-800-QUIT-NOW or 1-800-784-8669. The

Quitline services are available to all North Caraolinians.
Expert Tobacco Quit Coaches can call you back upon
request. English, Spanish and other languages are
available. All calls are free and confidential.

North Carolina
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Breathe easy!

What could be more important for good Can restaurant or bar employees smoke
health than clean, safe smoke-free air anywhere indoors?

to breathe? No. Smoking is not permitted in enclosed areas,
The good health of workers and customers alike is inC|UdiﬂQ private offices and break rooms. See
the best reason to ensure smoke-free public places exceptions below.

and workplaces. Smoke-free restaurants and bars
are good for North Caralina residents, workers,
businesses and visitors.

Is smoking allowed in the outdoor areas of
restaurants and bars?

The new state law does not require unenclosed areas
of restaurants, bars, and lodging establishments

to be smoke-free. These establishments may, however
voluntarily put into place a policy that prohibits
smoking in these unenclosed areas, such as decks
and patios that are open to the outside.

North Carolina’s smoke-free law prohibits smoking

in enclosed areas of almost all bars and restaurants
in the state, with very few exceptions™*. Smoking is
also not allowed in enclosed areas of lodging
establishments, such as hotels, motels, and inns, if
the establishment prepares and serves food or drink.

A lodging establishment may designate no more than Are there any restaurants, bars or lodging

20 percent of its guest rooms as smoking rooms. establishments that do NOT have to follow

Why was the law passed? the law?*

When the NC General Assembly passed the new Yes. The following types of establishments are not

law, it included explaining that secondhand smoke required to be smoke-free:

“has been proven to cause cancer, heart disease, and e Cigar bars that meet a list of requirements

asthma attacks in both smokers and nonsmokers. Private clubs that meet a list of requirements,

In 2006, a report issued by the United States including that they must be non-profit

fSur"geon General stqted thf';\t the scientific evidence organizations *

indicates that there is no risk-free level of exposure *This means that a for profit restaurant, bar or nightclub

to secondhand smoke.” cannot avoid going smoke-free by calling themselves a
‘private club.”

This means that breathing in smoke from someone
else’s cigarette, cigar or pipe could be harmful to you.
The Surgeon General has concluded that no level

* Establishments that serve food, but are exempt
from the state’s sanitation laws

of exposure to secondhand smoke is safe. The * Lodging establishments that do not serve food or
new law protects people from the harm caused by drink for pay

secondhand smoke in restaurants, bars and many * Lodging establishments that are exempt from the
lodging facilities. state’s food sanitation laws

*  Guest rooms in lodging establishments
designated as smoking (not maore than 20
percent of all rooms]

What does the law require of people who
smoke?

Beginning January 2, 2010, smokers will have to step
outside of restaurants, bars, and the common areas

of most lodging establishments - such as lobbies and
meeting rooms - in order to smoke.
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